Skip to main content

Oracle Grant Program

The Belmont-Redwood Shores School District is committed to investing in an infrastructure that will strengthen mathematics instruction in all elementary grade levels. The district coaching model has provided extensive support to teaching staff on the current mathematics program and the implementation of Common Core State Standards. To find out more information, learn about resources, and access the monthly math newsletter, please visit the link below.


Math Coach's Corner


Oracle Square.png

Oracle Volunteer Day at Central
Thank you Oracle Giving!!!

Educational Services Overview

Welcome to the Educational Services Department

The Belmont-Redwood Shores School District offers a balanced and rigorous instructional program based on the common core standards serving students from Transitional Kindergarten through 8th grade. Innovation, collaboration, and a growth mindset serves as the foundation of the instructional programs providing students with an educational environment that will instill a personal mindset for learning, create a collaborative culture of learning, sustain a learning environment that promotes a capacity for innovation, and foster responsible global citizenship. 

California Testing in 2015–16

The assessments that comprise the 2015–16 CAASPP administration are a mix of online and paper-pencil assessments. The online component contains the Smarter Balanced English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics tests. The paper-pencil component includes CST/CMA/CAPA science tests and the optional STS for RLA.

Smarter Balanced >

In California, all students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 will participate in the 2015 Smarter Balanced tests, which include both ELA and mathematics content areas. These tests are administered online.

California Alternate Assessments (CAA) >

The CAA for English–language arts and mathematics tests are individually administered to students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 who have significant cognitive disabilities. All eligible students are required to participate in a field test of these new, online assessments in spring 2015.

California Standards Tests (CSTs) >

The CSTs in Science are to be administered to students in grades 5, 8, and 10.

California Modified Assessment (CMA) >

The CMA for Science tests are to be administered to students in grades 5, 8, and 10 who have an individualized education program (IEP). Assignment of the CMA is made in the student’s IEP only; a student’s Section 504 plan is not to be used to assign a student to take the CMA (although accommodations may be named in the Section 504 plan or in the IEP).

California Alternate Performance Assessment (CAPA) >

The CAPA for Science tests are individually administered performance assessments for students in grades 5, 8, and 10 who have significant cognitive disabilities and who are unable to take either the CSTs even with accommodations or modifications or the CMA with accommodations.

Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS) >

The optional STS are multiple-choice tests that allow Spanish-speaking English learners in grades 2 through 11 to demonstrate their knowledge of the California content standards by taking a reading/language arts (RLA) assessment in their primary language. STS items are developed by biliterate, bilingual California educators and test developers.


SBAC/CAASPP K-8 Activities



Contact Us

Director of Educational Services

Ching-Pei Hu

(650) 637-4800 Ext. 1013

Administrative Assistant

Jennifer Battad 

(650) 637-4800 Ext. 1013


Health Educator / Wellness Coordinator

Elizabeth Boldt

650-802-8060 x1731


BRSSD/Oracle Elementary Math Coach

Molly Johnson